|
1
GARRICK FAMILY PAPERS XZ5 MS A041
Legal
papers relating to the marriage of David Garrick (1754-95), favoured
nephew of the famous actor, to Emma Hart (1758-1813), 1778.
1
file .
Deposited
as part of the Lillian E. Davies Memorial Collection, 1969.
2
STRATFORD FESTIVAL COLLECTION XZ1 MS A400-414
Prompt
scripts, programs, reviews, articles, publications, promotional
materials, press releases, and designs, 1953 to the present. The
collection includes microfilm copies of prompt scripts of all
productions, 1953-70, as well as twenty-nine scrapbooks donated
by the London (Ontario) Public Library in 1991. The Stratford
Festival also maintains its own comprehensive archival collection.
4
m.
Founded
in 1953 by Tom Patterson, the Stratford Festival has established
itself as one of the world's leading Shakespearean companies.
Deposited
1971 to the present.
3
MACQUEEN-POPE COLLECTION
XZ4 MS A003 ANNEX
Correspondence,
books, articles, diaries, letters to the press, publicity releases,
speeches and lectures, scripts for radio and television broadcasts,
press cuttings, and scrapbooks, 1933-60.
4.68
m.
Walter
MacQueen-Pope (1888-1960) was a theatre historian and publicist
in London, England.
Deposited
ca. 1975.
See
Michael Ridley, "The MacQueen-Pope Papers," Collection
Update, no. 3, 1981, pp. 13-15.
4
SHAW FESTIVAL ARCHIVES XZ1 MS A200-241
Performance
files, videotapes, prompt scripts, souvenir and house programs,
publications, reviews, articles, study guides, posters, technical
drawings, photographs, set models, and administrative files, 1962
to the present.
110
m.
Founded
in 1962 by Brian Doherty in Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, the
Shaw Festival has developed--particularly under the leadership
of Christopher Newton, appointed artistic director in 1980--into
one of North America's leading repertory companies, with a mandate
to present the plays of Bernard Shaw and his contemporaries.
Deposited
1983 to the present.
See
Nancy Butler, "The Shaw Festival Collection," Collection
Update,
no. 11, 1988, pp. 22-25.
5
OPEN CIRCLE THEATRE ARCHIVES XZ1 MS A420-425
Performance
files, photographs, programs, and audio-visual material, 1973-83.
7.5
m.
Founded
in 1973 by Sylvia Tucker and Ray Whelan, Open Circle provided
Toronto audiences with a decade of eclectic theatre before closing
in 1982.
Deposited
1983.
See Harry Lane, "The Open Circle Archives,"
Collection
Update,
no. 11, 1988, pp. 79-81.
6
PHOENIX THEATRE ARCHIVES XZ1 MS A290-299
Prompt
scripts, programs, reviews, photographs, costume designs, posters,
audio tapes, press releases, and administrative files, 1974-83.
2.5
m.
Founded
by Graham Harley, Bryan Foster, Tony Miller, and Joanne Ruderfer,
this Toronto theatre mounted some forty productions, including
world and North American premires, before closing in August 1983.
Deposited
1983.
See
Graham Harley, "Phoenix Theatre," Collection
Update,
no.11, 1988, pp. 74-78.
7
TARRAGON THEATRE ARCHIVES XZ1 MS A180-195
Prompt
scripts, reading scripts, playwrights' workshop files, programs,
show reports, press releases, reviews, photographs, posters, designs,
and administrative files, 1971 to the present.
20
m.
Founded
in Toronto in 1971 by Bill Glassco and Jane Gordon, and under
the artistic direction of Glassco until he was succeeded by Urjo
Kareda in 1982, Tarragon has specialized in developing and presenting
new Canadian work. Judith Thompson, David French, Carol Bolt,
and David Freeman are among the many playwrights whose work has
premiered at Tarragon. English-language productions of Quebec
writers, such as Michel Tremblay, have also premiered at Tarragon.
Deposited
1983 to the present.
See
Urjo Kareda, "The Tarragon," Collection
Update,
no. 11, 1988, pp. 62-67.
8
JACOBS & SPARROW'S OPERA HOUSE XZ1 MS A108
Programs
for Jacobs' and Sparrow's Opera House, Toronto, 1891.
5
items .
Joseph
Jacobs and John Sparrow are listed as proprietors and managers
of the Opera House, with Joseph Frank as local manager, and Ambrose
J. Small as treasurer.
Deposited
1984.
9
EDMUND KEAN COLLECTION XZ1 MS AO23
Scrapbook
of programs and engravings relating to Edmund Kean, ca. 1820-33.
The
programs are of Covent Garden and Drury Lane productions. The
engravings are chiefly of Kean in various roles, with some engravings
of theatres in Brighton, Lewes, Newcastle, Manchester, Andover,
Liverpool, Birmingham, and Margate.
1
item.
Deposited
1984.
10
MAURICE STRIKE COLLECTION XZ1 MS A199
Set
and costume designs from the Shaw Festival and Tarragon Theatre.
33
drawings.
Strike
came to Canada from Great Britain, where he had studied and worked
with several theatres. In Canada he designed for theatres across
the country in the late 1960s and the 1970s, before returning
to England.
Deposited
1984.
See Sarah Funston-Mills, "The Designer," Collection
Update,
no. 11, 1988, pp. 16-21.
|